Classic Starts Series

By Various Authors
Level 5

I am not a fan of abridged classics for older children or adults, but I highly recommend many of the Classic Starts series only for younger readers. My children have loved reading them, and they are wholesome, classic stories that will prepare and excite readers for reading the full versions one day. The series is written by different writers and includes varying levels of descriptive language, a variety and complexity of sentence structures, and elevated vocabulary.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: A Little Princess, Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, Journey to the Center of the Earth, The Secret Garden, The Three Musketeers, Little Women (note: contains mild romantic feelings), 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Pinocchio, Peter Pan, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, White Fang, The Call of the Wild, The Story of King Arthur, Moby Dick, The Swiss Family Robinson, Anne of Avonlea, The Wind in the Willows, The Jungle Book, The Prince and the Pauper, The Adventures of Robin Hood, Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, Pollyanna, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, Five Little Peppers and How They Grew, Little Men, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, Anne of Green Gables (note: contains mild romantic feelings), The Time Machine, The Voyages of Doctor Doolittle

Books in this series that are not our favorite (because they are less engaging): Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking Glass, Oliver Twist, The Iliad, Gulliver’s Travels

Books in this series that did not make the list (because they contain profanity or taking God’s name in vain): The Man in the Iron Mask

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Genre Fiction
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Top Picks
  • 4 Entertainment Value
  • 3 Moral Value
  • 3 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System