Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables Series

By L. M. Montgomery
Level 7

Matthew and Marilla requested an orphan boy, but they were mistakenly sent a girl. Not just any girl, but dramatic, redhead Anne Shirley. Matthew and Marilla end up falling in love with Anne and her free spirit in this old-fashioned, humorous, and wholesome classic. L. M. Montgomery is a master at descriptive writing with lines such as, “Its windows looked east and west, through the west one, looking out on the back yard, came a flood of mellow June sunlight, but the east one, whence you got a glimpse of the bloom white cherry-trees in the left orchard and nodding, slender birches down in the hollow by the brook, was greened over by a tangle of vines.” Many popular modern books today are all about fast-paced, thrilling plots. Books like Anne of Green Gables help us slow down and take time to experience and explore the beauty of nature and human relationships.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: #1: Anne of Green Gables, #2: Anne of Avonlea

Books in this series that did not make the booklist: (due to profanity and/or taking God’s name in vain): #3: Anne of the Island, #4: Anne of Windy Poplars, #5: Anne’s House of Dreams, #6: Anne of Ingleside, #7: Rainbow Valley, #8: Rilla of Ingleside

(Reviewed by Kate Phillips)

Series Yes
Region Canda
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • E-Book
  • Top Picks
  • 3.5 Entertainment Value
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 3.5 Educational Value
  • 5 Literary Value
Rating System