Little House in the Big Woods

Little House on the Prairie Series

By Laura Ingalls Wilder
Level 5

Little House in the Big Woods is the first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s beloved Little House series, based on her life growing up on the American frontier. These warm family stories give insight into a more simple time in history. Most girls who start this series will be hooked.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: Little House in the Big Woods, Little House on the Prairie, Farmer Boy, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, These Happy Golden Years, The First Four Years.

Note: there is some racist conversation in some of the books that was, sadly, typical of the time period.

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Region North America, United States, Midwest
Period 19th Century, 1800s, Late 1800s
Genre Historical Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • Top Picks
  • 4 Entertainment Value
  • 5 Moral Value
  • 5 Educational Value
  • 5 Literary Value
Rating System