Saturday Cousins by Rebecca Caudill

Saturday Cousins

By Rebecca Caudill
Level 5

Published in 1953, Rebecca Caudill tells the story of six small cousins—three from one family and three from another—who visit together every Saturday. The stories are not fast-paced or super exciting. Rather, the stories give a wholesome and cute look into the simple innocence of childhood before video games and television. Children will learn about a simpler time period of history in the countryside from this well-written book that supports strong families, work, kindness, and overall goodness. Children who do not need instant entertainment and fast-moving plots will enjoy a story of homemade ice cream, farms, trains, player pianos, and talking machines. Reluctant readers will most likely struggle with this book. If readers have not read any of Rebecca Caudill’s books, I would start with the Fairchild Family Story series first, which I like even better.

Genre Fiction
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Hard to Find
  • Gentle Favorite
  • 3 Entertainment Value
  • 5 Moral Value
  • 4 Educational Value
  • 4.5 Literary Value
Rating System