The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase

By Joan Aiken
Level 6

This little-known classic, written over 50 years ago, was a great discovery. With an exemplary writing style, Joan Aiken pulls readers into the lives of young heroines who face some unexpected trials with perseverance and kindness: Bonnie, who lives grandly in the manor house of Willoughby Chase in the English countryside, and Sylvia, her poor cousin from the city. This is an exciting and rewarding book that my husband did as a read-aloud with our older children, who loved it. Some parts of the book may be too sad for children under nine, but the story does end happily. This is the first book in a series of books that features some of the same characters, but they can all be read as stand-alones. Be aware that the second book, Black Hearts in Battersea, does contain swear words and is not recommended. The third book, however, Nightbirds on Nantucket, uses clean language and is fantastic.

Series Yes
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • Top Picks
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 2 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System