A Cup of Cold Water by Christine Farenhorst

Chosen Daughters Series

By Various Authors
Level 8

This series tells the true stories of faithful, courageous women throughout history. The books are beautifully written, with intriguing plots and lots of moral and educational value.

A Cup of Cold Water tells the story of British nurse Edith Cavell during World War I, caught in the turmoil of the war while working in Belgium.

Wings Like a Dove follows a largely forgotten but important and heroic woman of the Reformation, Jeanne d’Albret, who became the queen of Navarre, showing incredible courage and kindness in a time fraught with dangers and persecution. IMPORTANT NOTE: Catholic families should be aware that Wings Like a Dove has a very strong Protestant point of view.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: A Cup of Cold Water, Wings Like a Dove

(Reviewed by Kate Phillips)

Region Belgium, Europe
Period World War 1
Genre Biography, Nonfiction
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Top Picks
  • 3.5 Entertainment Value
  • 4.5 Moral Value
  • 5 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System