A Little Maid Series by Alice Turner Curtis

A Little Maid Series

By Alice Turner Curtis
Level 8

Alice Turner Curtis was a gifted American writer who wrote three series of children’s books: Grandpa’s Little Girls (1920-1930—out of print and unavailable as of the date of this review), Yankee Girls (1920- 1930), and A Little Maid (1913-1937).

My 8-year-old daughter and I have read and loved three of the A Little Maid series. This series of historical novels is especially for girls 7-13 and features delightful stories that are based on true events that took place in Colonial America. The series is not the easy, fast-paced, thrilling reading that many youth today are used to. Instead, it features beautiful, wholesome, skillful writing, and gentle yet engaging stories of courage and character. Children who are not used to this type of reading might struggle with these books. But my eight-year-old daughter, who started with this type of reading from the beginning, adores these books.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: A Little Maid of Provincetown, A Little Maid of Mohawk Valley (NOTE: this one does include a reference to seeing a fairy), A Little Maid of Massachusetts Colony, A Little Maid of Old Philadelphia, A Little Maid of Vermont

Books in this series that didn’t make the list: A Little Maid of Old New York, A Little Maid of Narragansett Bay, A Little Maid of Maryland

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Region North America
Period 18th Century
Genre Historical Fiction
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Hard to Find
  • Gentle Favorite
  • 2.5 Entertainment Value
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 5 Educational Value
  • 5 Literary Value
Rating System