Freddy the Pig (SERIES) by Walter R. Brooks

Freddy the Pig Series

By Walter R. Brooks
Level 6

Freddy the Pig is the central figure in a series of over 20 books written in the mid-1900s by author Walter R. Brooks. Not only are they fun, hilarious, clever, and very well written, but they teach values such as kindness, positive attitude, sharing, responsibility, and teamwork, without seeming preachy. Some of the books are out of print, but you can often find used copies. These books are great, but my daughter lost interest after a few of them. The books do not have to be read in order, but they make more sense by following the recommended order.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: Freddy Goes to Florida, Freddy Goes to the North Pole, Freddy the Detective, The Story of Freginald, The Clockwork Twin, Freddy the Politician, Freddy’s Cousin Weedly, Freddy and the Ignoramus, Freddy and the Perilous Adventure, Freddy and the Bean Home News, Freddy and Mr. Camphor, Freddy and the Popinjay, Freddy the Pied Piper, Freddy the Magician, Freddy Goes Camping, Freddy Plays Football, Freddy the Cowboy, Freddy Rides Again, Freddy the Pilot, Freddy and the Spaceship, Freddy and the Men From Mars, Freddy and the Baseball Team From Mars, Freddy and Simon the Dictator, Freddy and the Flying Saucer Plans, Freddy and the Dragon

(Reviewed by Kate Phillips)

Series Yes
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • 4.5 Entertainment Value
  • 3 Moral Value
  • 1.5 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System