Katie Books by James Mayhew

Katie Series

By James Mayhew
Level 2

James Mayhew has written and illustrated a series of fiction storybooks (not chapter books) where the main character, Katie, learns about classical art and artists, natural history museums, and historical locations. These books are well written and very fun. Also, the illustrations are wonderful. My 7-year old loved these books. Katie is polite, has a love of learning, and has a sweet relationship with her grandmother who takes her on her adventures.

There are 13 books in the series (they do not go in any particular order): Katie and the Bathers, Katie and the Dinosaurs, Katie and the Starry Night, Katie and the Mona Lisa, Katie and the Sunflowers, Katie in London, Katie and the Impressionists, Katie’s Picture Show, Katie and the Spanish Princess, Katie and the Waterlily Pond, Katie in Scotland, Katie and the British Artists, Katie’s London Christmas.

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Genre Fiction
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Top Picks
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 3 Educational Value
  • 3 Literary Value
Rating System