Lighthouse Family Series by Cynthia Rylant

Lighthouse Family Series

By Cynthia Rylant
Level 3

This series of short books is just clean, creative fun as it follows the little adventures of a cat and a dog who maintain a lighthouse and have adopted some baby mice that were shipwrecked on their shore. I have read all the books in the series (with my five-year-old son), and I found nothing objectionable. The stories have some good messages. The writing is great. After the first book, The Storm, the books don’t need to go in any specific order.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: The Storm, The Whale, The Eagle, The Turtle, The Octopus, The Otter, The Sea Lion, The Bear

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • 3 Entertainment Value
  • 3 Moral Value
  • 2 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System