Mary Louise Books by L. Frank Baum

Mary Louise Books

By L. Frank Baum
Level 9

The Bluebird Books, or Mary Louise series, written by L. Frank Baum using his Edith Van Dyne pseudonym, is a series of mystery novels popular with teenage girls in the 1910s and 1920s. I listened to Mary Louise Solves a Mystery on and really enjoyed it. The story is well written and wholesome and has some good messages, but it is mainly just good, clean entertainment with high literary value but not strong in moral or educational merit. The books go in this order, although each works as a stand-alone book: Mary Louise, Mary Louise in the Country, Mary Louise Solves a Mystery, Mary Louise and the Liberty Girls, Mary Louise Adopts a Soldier, Mary Louise at Dorfield, Mary Louise Stands the Test, Mary Louise and Josie O’Gorman, Josie O’Gorman, Josie O’Gorman and the Meddlesome Major.

Series Yes
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • Top Picks
  • 2 Moral Value
  • 1 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System