Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome

Swallows and Amazons

By Arthur Ransome
Level 7

This lesser-known but classic series, originally published in 1930, was a great find. My 12-year-old daughter loves these books, and I love the delightful, descriptive, wholesome writing. Set in the English Lake District in the early 1900s, the series follows two groups of siblings—one with a boat called Swallow and the other with a boat called Amazon. I agree with the Amazon.com reviewer who wrote:

“It is a lovely, wistful book that evokes the grandeur of childhood games in nature.” The characters are well developed and engaging as well as being respectful to elders, imaginative, and clever. These books are refreshing, innocent, and fun! My daughter and I have only reviewed the first five books in the series. The books go in this order: Swallows and Amazons, Swallowdale, Peter Duck, Winter Holiday, Coot Club (This book includes one use of the “A word,” which may or may not be considered profanity. It is not a problem to skip this book in the series if desired.), Pigeon Post, We Didn’t Mean to Go to Sea, Secret Water, The Big Six, Missee Lee, The Picts and the Martyrs, Great Northern.

Series Yes
Region England
Period early 1900s
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • Top Picks
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 2 Educational Value
  • 5 Literary Value
Rating System