The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Boxcar Children

By Gertrude Chandler Warner
Level 3

The Boxcar Children is a fun series originally published in 1942 about a group of orphaned siblings who are trying to stay together and eventually find their loving grandfather. The characters have integrity and kindness and are hard working. I read the first two books in the series and found nothing objectionable in them, other than they occasionally mention activities they do on Sundays, but they never mention going to church. The first 19 books in the series were written by the original author: The Boxcar Children #1, Surprise Island #2, The Yellow House Mystery #3, Mystery Ranch #4, Mike’s Mystery #5, Blue Bay Mystery #6, The Woodshed Mystery #7, The Lighthouse Mystery #8, Mountain Top Mystery #9, Schoolhouse Mystery #10, Caboose Mystery #11, Houseboat Mystery #12, Snowbound Mystery #13, Tree House Mystery #14 (one parent told me she was concerned about the “glaring lack of parental involvement” in this book), Bicycle Mystery #15, Mystery in the Sand #16, Mystery Behind the Wall #17, Bus Station Mystery #18, Benny Uncovers a Mystery #19. Note that there are many more books in the series beyond these 19, written by other authors, that I have not reviewed and that others have said might contain less than desirable behavior. Also, note that these books are a Level 3 reading level, so they don’t offer challenging reading for readers beyond that level.

Series Yes
Region North America, United States
Genre Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • 3 Moral Value
  • 2 Educational Value
  • 3 Literary Value
Rating System