The Happy Hollisters, Jerry West

The Happy Hollisters Series

By Jerry West
Level 4

The Happy Hollisters is a series of well-written, fun, wholesome chapter books written in the 1950s and 1960s. The series is about the Hollister family, nicknamed the “Happy Hollisters” by their neighbors. My 7- to 10-year-old children have loved these books, which portray kind, loving families and strong relationships with siblings. So far, we have only reviewed a few of the books, but there are a total of 33 books in this series.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: The Happy Hollisters, On a River Trip, At Circus Island

Books in this series that did not make the booklist: The Secret Fort (it contains one use of a racial slur that was common at the time the book was written but considered offensive and inappropriate now)

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Region North America, United States, New York, Shoreham
Period 20th Century, 1900s, mid 1900s
Genre Fiction, Mystery
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • 4.5 Moral Value
  • 2 Educational Value
  • 3.5 Literary Value
Rating System