The Mitchells: Five for Victory (Series) by Hilda Van Stockum

The Mitchells: Five for Victory

By Hilda Van Stockum
Level 6

The author of The Winged Watchman, Hilda van Stockum, wrote several novels that give the reader a sense of connection with her personal life as a child during World War II. In this novel, the Mitchells are a charming family in America whose father and uncle have gone to serve in the war overseas. It is full of great writing and fun wit. It would be enjoyable as a family read-aloud. Although it is historical fiction, it does not have a ton of historical facts. This is the first in a series of three, but it works wonderfully as a stand-alone. The next two books in the series have not yet been reviewed: Canadian Summer (second in the series) and Friendly Gables (third in the series).

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Period 20th Century, Early 1900s
Genre Historical Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • 3 Entertainment Value
  • 3 Moral Value
  • 3 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System