The Orphan Train Adventures by Joan Lowery Nixon

The Orphan Train Adventures Series

By Joan Lowery Nixon
Level 7

A devoted widow who is no longer able to provide for her children makes the ultimate sacrifice and sends her children on the Orphan Train headed far away to the West, hoping they will be adopted by families that can better care for them. This historically accurate series follows the very engaging, well-paced stories of these children. Model writing, elevated vocabulary, and high moral lessons make these books modern classics. I highly recommend these books. I loved how packed the stories are with positive messages and educational value. This first book teaches about life in New York and the West in the 1850s. It also teaches about the political issues of the time and the Underground Railroad, as well as giving deep insight into concepts such as sacrifice, responsibility, adoption, love, discrimination, family, and forgiveness. The books are completely wholesome, but because of mature themes, such as a family being split up and hints of abuse, I recommend children be at least 10 to read these books when they can better process these issues.

Books in this series we have reviewed and recommend: A Family Apart, Caught in the Act, In the Face of Danger, A Place to Belong, Keeping Secrets, Circle of Love

Books in this series that did not make the booklist: A Dangerous Promise

(Reviewed by Jenny Phillips)

Series Yes
Region United States
Period 1856
Genre Historical Fiction
Digital Format Audiobook, E-book
The Good and the Beautiful Library No
  • Audiobook
  • E-Book
  • 3.5 Entertainment Value
  • 4 Moral Value
  • 4 Educational Value
  • 4 Literary Value
Rating System